This document records to the best of current information the winners of national Fellowships and Bursaries awarded by the Australian Federation of University Women to 2009, when the name of the Association was changed to Australian Federation of Graduate Women. Awards are listed by year in descending chronological order. For the most part the Georgina Sweet and the AFUW Fellowships are awarded in alternating years, except when funding permits both awards, as when the Fellowship Fund of AFUW-Q provided funding that enabled the both Fellowships to be offered 2006–2008.

The text is based on announcements made in the year in which the award was offered and decided, although the award was in many cases not taken up until the following year, with the result that the winner, for instance, of the AFUW Fellowship awarded in 1990 might be referred to as the 1991 AFUW Fellow, thus creating apparent discrepancies in the documentation. In this document, as already stated, the date used is the date of the year in which the Fellowship was offered, since at least in recent years the winner of the award has normally been announced in that year.

From its inception, the establishment of a Fellowship fund was part of the program of AFUW. Capital for the fund has come from member donations and bequests and it took time to accumulate sufficient capital to sustain an ongoing award program.

From 1954 to 1979, AFUW offered the Freda Bage Bursary, the first award being made in 1957 to Irangani Pereno of Ceylon for study in Australia and to Lida Axons, a Latvian migrant studying dentistry at University of Queensland. After its discontinuation by AFUW in 1979, AFUW-Qld established its own Freda Bage Fellowship in honour of one of its most distinguished academic women, who was Principal of the University of Queensland Women’s College 1914-1947 and President of AFUW-Q 1928-30.

Information about other holders of the AFUW Freda Bage Bursary would be gratefully received.

The Georgina Sweet Fellowship is named in honour of Dr Georgina Sweet, the first woman to receive the degree of Doctor of Science from the University of Melbourne and first President of the Victorian Women Graduates Association (later AFUW-Vic).

Dr Sweet had left a substantial bequest in 1946 for the Federation to use in awarding fellowships and the 1964 AFUW Conference established the Georgina Sweet Fellowship Fund, initially to enable women graduates from overseas to study in Australia, although eligibility was later extended to any member of IFUW enrolled for postgraduate study at an Australian university.

The first Georgina Sweet Fellow was Ms G.K. Chew of Singapore for study towards a Masters degree on a survey of education of women and girls in Papua New Guinea. Unfortunately records between 1966 and 1983 are currently unavailable. Any information on award winners in this period would be greatly appreciated.

A further campaign to increase the Fellowship program was conducted in the 1980s, especially as a consequence of resolutions passed by the 1985 Conference and as a result the AFUW Fellowship, a research scholarship specifically for Australian citizens and permanent residents enrolled at an Australian university, was set up and first awarded in 1988. We lack a record of the winner in 2000 and would be very grateful for any information.

Other Awards

The E.M. Hinder Bursary, to facilitate research fieldwork in southeast Asia, was established as a result of a bequest in honour of Eleanor Mary Hinder, the first Secretary of the Sydney University Women Graduates Association and a pioneer in the field of industrial welfare in Australia and internationally From 1926 to 1928, Hinder assisted in the development of the new industrial department of the National Committee of the Young Women’s Christian Association of China, in Shanghai. She held the position of Chief of the Industrial and Social Division of Shanghai Municipal

Council from January 1933 until August 1942, when the Japanese occupation of Shanghai forced her repatriation to Britain. From December 1942 to October 1944 she was Special Consultant on Asian Questions at the International Labour Organisation (ILO).

Unfortunately the amount of capital was insufficient to fund a regular award at a rate that would provide meaningful support for fieldwork in Southeast Asia and after awards in 1994 and 2002 it was decided by the Trustees to expend the entire capital of the fund in a final 2008 award.

The Beryl Henderson Memorial Grant was offered in alternate years by AFGW and the Beryl Henderson Foundation. A brief history of the arrangement reached between the Foundation and AFUW in 2002 is given in Graduate Women Number 143. The award is open to women who are enrolled in an Honours IV year or postgraduate program in Australian tertiary institutions, or embarked on research work with publications in Australia in view. Records are currently incomplete but information will be added as it is obtained. It is no longer offered.