

## e-News post February Council 2019



You will remember that in the post AGM e-mail to members I told you all that the decision had been made to restructure AFGW into an organisation of individual members to affiliate to GWI. This process is moving smoothly along. Jennifer Strauss and Jocelyn Eskdale have worked hard to produce the Rules that were accepted by Council in a unanimous vote on 9 February 2019 at the teleconference Council Meeting. These draft Rules are now available and have been sent to all who were delegates at the AGM last September, to all Council members and to all the nominated new Executive. Notice has also been given of a Special General Meeting (SGM) on 6 April in Sydney when the name change to Australian Graduate Women will be approved and these Rules presented for final approval and the new Executive elected. The nominees for these positions are:

President Jaya Dantas GWWA
CIR Shirley Randell AFGW NSW
Secretary Jenny Jones GWWA

**Honorary Business** 

Manager/ Treasurer Alison Hayden GWWA

The pleasing fact that we have a full list of nominees means we can proceed without further delay to the SGM. It is scheduled for slightly later than the statutory 4 weeks because both Jaya and Shirley are off to New York, both as members of the 20 strong selected delegation from GWI to the Commission on the Status of Women (CSW 63) and to present a side event on the place of the Women's Alliances in Australia. Catherine Evans (AFGW NSW) is also attending, representing Soroptimists International.

Until the formalities of approval of the Rules by Fair Trading NSW and by GWI have been achieved Council will continue with members being the new executive plus vice Presidents Mary Crawford, Kerry Ferguson and Doreen Todd and Immediate Past President Jane Baker and Jocelyn Eskdale as Resolutions Convenor. At the AGW AGM early in the next financial year the three councilors decreed in the new rules can be elected from the full membership with a vote by members not delegates. This of course means that to be a member of AGW after 1 July intending members must pay their 2019-20 dues on 1 July or as soon as possible thereafter, certainly before the Geneva Meeting.

Miranda Mortlock and Dalma Jacobs (GWQ) have a poster presentation accepted for the Geneva Centenary Meeting and Emily Lawson (GWV) has the award for the Centennial song. Amie Khosla has registered as a young Member. More than 10 members of AGW will be going to Geneva, 99 years since Louisa MacDonald and Mildred Muscio in 1920, represented Australia at the first IFUW conference in London. Soon after this, initiatives were taken to form the Sydney University Women Graduates Association who met with similar groups from the other states to form AFUW at a conference of 75 women in Sydney in 1922 and produced a Constitution accepted by IFUW for affiliation as the Australian National Federation (NFA) later that year. We will now have the executive to celebrate this centenary in 2022 towards the end of their term in office!

We have nominated Jennifer Strauss and Daphne Elliott as AFGW's Outstanding Women for the GWI Centenary, two very significant members in our history, but have included Louisa MacDonald as a possible extra.

Of our recent heroines I am delighted to report that the nominations from GWQ that **Dalma Jacobs and Marion Jones be made Members Emeritae** was greeted with acclamation. We plan to acknowledge this at morning tea after the SGM. Since the Council Meeting I have heard that Dalma has agreed to the ABS's invitation to be a member of the newly funded Time Use Survey Reference Group (TURG). Congratulations! Good to have a friend involved to keep us in the loop!

The first Council Meeting of this new Triennium will follow the SGM. Since the new Rules allow for all meetings to be electronic, I do hope that most of the people at the SGM will take the opportunity to attend this face to face meeting as observers. The plan is for all the business to be completed by a late lunch time.

Last, but certainly not least, all at the Council meeting expressed their congratulations to Merle Thompson on her OAM in the Australia Day Honours.

My heartfelt thanks to my Executive colleagues and everyone involved for enabling this process of change to be as smooth and speedy as it has been.

Jane Baker President AFGW 19 February 2019